Log in

"Pass It On" Award Recipients 

Click to enlarge
2011 Frank Panzarella (for his work as Director of ConnectiCOSH, as a union steward for IAM Local 90, and for his leadership of New Haven's May Day Festival)
Paula Friedland Panzarella (for her work as a long time peace and justice activist and her leadership of New
 Haven's May Day Festival)
Click here to see the 2011 photos on our 
Facebook page>>

2010 Mary Altieri (for her work as a union organizer in the early garment industry)
Joe Dimow (for his life time contributions to progressive work in New Haven and beyond)

Click to enlarge

2009 Bill Berndtson, pictured at right (Dedicated union organizer at Yale for 18 years, director of Unemployed Council for 2 years) 
Danny Perez (posthumously; CT Int'l Ladies Garment Workers Union Organizing Director 1986-1995)

2008 Lois O'Connor
(President of AFSCME Local 478 from 1982-1997, Treasurer for CT Alliance for Retired Americans)
John Olsen (President of CT AFL-CIO)

2007 Bill Carey (Secretary-Treasurer of the Greater New Haven Labor Council, Former President of the Int'l Typographical Workers Union Local 47)
Thomas Gaudioso (Long time labor activist and former President of HERE Local 35)

Neil Hogan
(New Haven Register Reporter, Author of Moments in New Haven History)
Andrea Van Den Heever
(CT Center for a New Economy)

2005 Matthew Borenstein (posthumously; educator at an alternative city high school and former President of New Haven Federation of Teachers)
Irmgard Wessel (Former President of AFSCME Local 39, Chair of Community Services of the New Haven Central Labor Council for three years)

2004 Yale Union Retirees Association

2002 Rosa Anna Defillipis (Member of GESO)
Betty Murray (Local 34 HERE, United Marine Shipbuilding Workers of America Local 42, Steelworkers Local 2898, Women's Activities Director of the New Haven Central Labor Council)

2001 Donna Lategano (Shop Steward Teamsters Local 443)
Willie Tart (Activist in the 1199 organizing drive at Yale New Haven Hospital)

2000 David Montgomery (Labor Historian, Yale)
Ovella Watts (Local 217 HERE)

1999 Nick Aiello
(Activist, Amalgamated Clothing Workers Union)
Dorothy Johnson (President of United Electrical Workers Union Local 299)

1993 John Dirzius (American Postal Workers Union), Lois O'Connor (AFSCME)

1992 William Henninger
(Ironworkers), Tom Pechinsky (Local 35 HERE)

1991 Dominic Furco
(Printers and Office Workers), Joe Millett (Machinists)

1990 Clair Pluff (Office Workers), Evelyn Webb (Laundry Workers)

1989 Mabel Batts
(Shirtmakers Union), Mary Johnson (Teachers Union)

1988 Jenny Alfano
(Shirtmakers Union), Amelia Spose (ILGWU)
Inaugural winners
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software